Concert archive

Norwich Baroque and Jayne May-Sysum

Jayne May-Sysum is a soprano whose musical sincerity and love of communicating with her audiences have won her plaudits wherever she has performed, and on this particular Sunday, after weeks of snow and freezing temperatures, her singing was a delight.
With Christmas and the New Year behind us we felt that a programme combining simplicity, beauty and energy would be refreshing for us all and a great antidote to the post-Christmas slump, and from the response of our audience they seemed to agree.

Norwich Baroque and Jayne May-Sysum

Sunday 17th January 2010, 3pm
United Reformed Church, Princes Street, Norwich.

Leader - James O`Toole
Soloist - Jayne May-Sysum

Concerto for strings RV 114 in C major - Vivaldi
"Cara speme, questo core" from Giulio Cesare - Handel
"Tornami a vagheggiar" from Alcina - Handel
Concerto Grosso Op.6 no.8 - Christmas Concerto - Corelli
Concerto Grosso no.6 in E major - A. Scarlatti
Salve Regina - Pergolesi
"Nulla in Mundo Pax Sincera" - Vivaldi
Concerto Grosso Op.6 no.2 in F major - Handel

A collection was made after the concert for the people of Haiti whose lives have been so devastated by the massive earthquake which hit their country last week. Thank you to all who contributed to the £300 raised.

Eastern Daily Press Review

The snow has gone, the sky is clear and this Sunday concert was a further breath of freshness which started with great precision from the orchestra`s eleven in the dotted rhythms of one of Vivaldi`s "Paris" Concertos for Strings.

Enter the delightful soprano Jayne May-Sysum to give beautifully poised performances of "Cara Speme" from Handel`s Italian opera "Julius Ceasar" and the same composer`s "Tornami a vagheggiar" from "Alcina". In the latter especially the soloist`s vocal warmth and agility extended through the range of a moving aria.

Later the clarity in Pergolesi`s "Salve Regina" was notable but her highlight was undoubtedly in the pleading and highly controlled Vivaldi solo motet "Nulla in mundo" with the final florid section showing what a superb instrument the human voice can be. And this one in particualr with each section being sung with a smile (and the added bonus of an encore of the final glorious "Alleluia").

Norwich Baroque had earlier given Alessandro Scarlatti`s Concerto grosso No. 6 a delicate finale but maybe they had been saving their best for their final work. It was not just because of the scale of writing in Handel`s Concerto Grosso Op.6 no.2 but for the totally integrated way the players dealt with it in a fittingly comforting performance.