Concert archive

25-01-14 - Water Works

7.30pm, Norwich Central Baptist Church.
Soprano Jayne May-Sysum, "Live programme notes" from engaging musicologist Simon Heighes plus a tribute to Burn's Night. Music by Handel, Vivaldi, Hayes, Arne and Mackintosh.
The Live Programme Notes format is something we first tried last year; it was at once a hit with the audience and so we asked Simon back for more! With his vast knowledge of all-things 17th/18th century he is able to put the music in context historically, socially, musically, artistically and geographically, really bringing it to life.

An audience of around 250 joined us for:


- George Frideric Handel - Original Water Music suite

- Antonio Vivaldi - Concerto ‘La Tempesta di mare’ RV98
Soloists: Jim O’Toole (violin), Chris Hartland (recorder), Gail Hennessey (oboe),
Mike Brain (bassoon)

- Antonio Vivaldi Motet Sum in medio tempestatum RV632 - Jayne May-Sysum

- Three Laments
1. Claudio Monteverdi - ‘Addio Roma’ from The Coronation of Poppea - Jayne May-Sysum
2. Johann Sebastian Bach - Prelude in G minor from 1st sonata for violin without bass, BWV 1001 - John Crockatt
3. William Hayes - ‘Mourn lovely vale’ from the Ode to the Memory of Mr Handel (first modern performance)- Jayne May-Sysum

- Antonio Vivaldi (and friends)- The ‘Raindrop’ Adagio (first performance)
Soloists: Jim O’Toole (violin); Gail Hennessey (oboe); Mike Brain (bassoon)

- Thomas Arne - Scene from Thomas and Sally (1760)- Jayne May-Sysum

- Robert (Red Rob) Mackintosh (1745-1807) Burns Night Tribute - Jim O’Toole