Concert archive

26-07-2014 "Mr Handel and Friends"

It was a treat to return to Aylsham church for a programme of bright and beautiful baroque to celebrate the life of Alison Snape. Our programme also included the winning entry from the Losh-Atkinson Historic Sounds Composition Competition, Disconcerto by Rupert Jeffcoat.
Director: Jim O'Toole
Winning Composer: Rupert Jeffcoat

Concerto in 7 parts no.2 - John Hebden
Concerto in 7 parts no.5 - Charles Avison
Disconcerto - Rupert Jeffcoat
Concerto Op.2 no.3 - John Stanley
Concerto in 7 parts no.4 - Richard Mudge
Concerto Grosso Op.6 no. 1 - Georg Frideric Handel


“The world premiere of Disconcerto was the highlight of this summer evening concert dedicated to the memory of Alison Snape.
The new piece had carried off the £500 prize in the 1st Losh-Atkinson Historic Sounds Composition Competition.
The idea of Douglas Losh-Atkinson and his late wife Ruthli, the competition aims to encourage composers to write original works with Baroque techniques. Rupert Jeffcoat rose to the challenge with his suite in 3 movements: A Cathedral canon, canaries Chaconne and Colman’s Jig – based on traditional forms that were, as his tongue in cheek title suggests, reinterpreted with engaging wit and imagination.
Under the heading of “Mr Handel and Friends”, the remainder of the programme was devoted to the music heard in England in the 18th century. It was played by Jim O’Toole’s Norwich Baroque with the style and energy we have come to expect of this ensemble.
It was a pleasure to hear elegant string music by John Stanley, better known for his organ pieces, and music by the Yorkshireman John Hebden, and Richard Mudge from Bideford.
A Concerto Grosso by Handel himself made a satisfying conclusion.

Christopher Smith.