Concert archive

25-07-2015 - THE GRAND TOUR - St Michael's Aylsham

As was the habit in the 17/18th Century, we decided to take you on a grand tour, with music from Italy, France, Germany, Holland and England. This concert also saw the premiere of the winning entry form the 2nd Losh-Atkinson Composition Competition. It was a pleasure to have the winning composer, Philipp Spatling, with us, not only to be present at the premiere of his work but also to take part in the performance.
Sat 25th July, St Michael's Church, Aylsham.
Director: Jim O'Toole
Soloists: Philipp Spatling and Jens Lohman - recorders

PARIS - Dance of the Savages - Rameau
Chaconne from "le Bourgeois Gentilhomme" - Lully
ROME - Concerto Grosso O.p6 no.3 - Corelli
VENICE - Concerto for Strings RV 152 - Vivaldi
Winner of the Losh-Atkinson Historic Sounds Composition Competition -
Concerto Grosso - Philip Spatling
MODENA - Aria Sopra La Bergamasca - Uccelini
BERLIN - overture - The Nations - Telemann
AMSTERDAM - Concerto Op.4 no.11 - Locatelli
ENGLAND - Concerto in 7 parts no.3 - Mudge

A Grand Tour, St Michael's Church, Aylsham


This concert was an echo of the Grand Tour. In the eighteenth century a gentleman's education was not complete until he had travelled with his tutor to Italy and learned to appreciate European architecture, painting and, of course, music.

Jim O'Toole's Norwich Baroque began their journey in Paris, not with an evocation of France but with the energetic Savages' Dance from Rameau's Galant Indies. Next came a lively movement from Moliere's Bourgeois Gentleman by Lully, a composer from Florence who enjoyed Louis XIV's patronage.

The elegance of Corelli showed Roman culture at its height. Germany was represented by a medley of the styles of different lands in the Nations Overture by Telemann. A work by Locatelli, who settled in the Netherlands, emphasised the cultural significance of Amsterdam, while a concerto by Richard Mudge showed that English composers of the Georgian era had merits.

The large audience also enjoyed the premiere of the winning entry in the Losh-Atkinson Historic Sounds Competition. With a prominent part for treble recorder, Philipp Spatling's Concerto Grosso cleverly developed Baroque techniques into an intriguing and delightful composition that was, like the whole programme, admirably performed.

Christopher Smith