Concert archive

September 25th 2010 - The Anglo-Italian connection - Peter Hanson

Following his inspiring performance of Vivaldi`s Four Seasons in August 2008 violinist Peter Hanson returned by popular request to direct Norwich Baroque`s exploration of the rich mix of music and culture in mid eighteenth century England and London in particular.
It was a treat to perform music by some of our favourite composers with a slightly larger ensemble than usual, including Andy Maginley`s theorbo which contributed to a warm and full sound in the beautiful united reformed church.
Saturday 25th September 2010
United Reformed Church, Princes Street, Norwich

Director and soloist - Peter Hanson

Concerto in 7 parts after Scarlatti, no.5 - Charles Avison
Concerto Grosso Op.3 No.1 - Francesco Geminiani
Concerto in 7 parts No.5 in D minor - Capel Bond
Concerto for Violin Op.8 No.3 "L`Autunno" from Le Quattro Stagioni - Antonio Vivaldi
Concerto in 7 parts No.4 in D minor - Richard Mudge
Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.10 - Arcangelo Corelli
Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.7 - George Frideric Handel


For the second time for recent and quite disparate reviews i find myself using the word "consistent" for an overall impression of a musical group.

But it needs amplification to convey the level, and on Saturday evening, in an "Anglo-Italian" programme, once again Norwich Baroque produced their now expected high level of individual expertise and collective performance.

Directed by solo violinist Peter Hanson, a stately and warm sound pervaded the building`s receptive accoustic in English composer Charles Avison`s "arrangement" of Domenico Scarlatti`s Concerto no. 5. Having studied under Francesco Geminiani, there was not suprisingly similarity with the latter`s concerto grosso Op. 3 no 1 which contained a particularly intense 3rd movement, before a return to another provincial Englishman and Capel Bond`s Concerto no. 2. Here, a rather sombre opening led to an almost languid Amoroso - what a lovely word - before a fugal flourish in the finale.

The Autumn movement form Vivaldi`s Four Seasons was full of drama, while contrasts, precision and solid foundations were the basis of the rich harmonies of Corelli`s concerto grosso Op.6 no 10. Norwich Baroque then epitomised the elegance of the whole concert with a shining Allegro and joyous finale in Handel`s concerto grosso Op.6. no.7. A graphic evenings music aided by a beautifully designed programme.

Michael Drake